Liesmortel 46 | 5435 XJ | Sint Agatha|


Elftalfoto Vitesse Arnhem U19

Vitesse Arnhem
Country: Nederland
Nickname: Vites, Pride of Arnhem
Level U19 team: Eredivisie
Level U23 team: Tweede Divisie (Second Division)
Level first team: Eredivisie

Eredivisie Third Place (1): 1997–98
Eerste Divisie Winners (2): 1976–77, 1988–89
Eerste Divisie Runners-up (2): 1959–60, 1973–74
KNVB Cup Runners-up (3): 1912, 1927, 1990

Well-known (ex) players:
Roy Makaay, Nikos Machlas, Sander Westerveld, Danko Lazovic, Pierre van Hooijdonk, Mahamadou Diarra, Philip Cocu, Wilfried Bony, Nicky Hofs, Marco van Ginkel and Davy Pröpper and Kevin Diks. Current first teams players who progressed through the youth academy are Eloy Room, Thomas Oude Kotte, Mohammed Osman, Mitchell van Bergen and Julian Lelieveld.

Additional information:
The idea of conceiving a football team stemmed from the club’s early roots as a cricket club. In the 1980’s as well in 2003, the club was threatened with bankruptcy. Vitesse was restructured again when it could have gone bankrupt, when the timely intervention of the Arnhem city council helped to create a financial rescue package to salvage the club. In 2010 the club was bought by Georgian businessman Merab Jordania, who is a good friend with Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich. Shortly thereafter, the two clubs agreed to a partnership and in the years following, many young Chelsea players have the move to Vitesse on loan.
The talent team of Vitesse (known as Jong Vitesse) are making their debut in the Second Division this summer.

Copa del Agatha:
Second participation.
Previous result: 3rd in 2015.


2015-03-25T22:40:16+00:00maart 25th, 2015|